Nine 2021 Campbell Trophy® Finalists Named to Academic All-District Football Teams

24 Nov 2021 | 07:59 | Rugby

CoSIDA today announced the 2021 Academic All-District Football Team, which recognizes the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances on the field or court and in the classroom. The CoSIDA Academic All-America® program separately recognizes football and volleyball honorees in four divisions — NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and the NAIA.

All First Team Academic All-District honorees advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America ballot. First-, second- and third-team Academic All-America® honorees will be announced in mid-December.

Nine of the finalists for the 2021 Campbell Trophy®/members of the 2021 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments were selected as First Team Academic All-District selections this year: Troy Andersen (Montana State), Thomas Booker (Stanford), Cameron Dukes (Lindsey Wilson[KY]), Patrick Fields (Oklahoma), Matt Henningsen (Wisconsin), Aidan Hutchinson (Michigan), Charlie Kolar (Iowa State), Henry Litwin (Slippery Rock [PA]) and Sean Mahone (West Virginia).

Three members of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, who returned for their extra year of eligibility due to the pandemic, were also named First Team Academic All-District: Jack Gibbens (Minnesota – honored by NFF at Abilene Christian), Ezra Gray (Alabama State) and Kekaula Kaniho (Boise State).

This marked the third First Team Academic All-District selection for both Kolar and Litwin, who both went on to be two-time First Team Academic All-Americans. This marked the second First Team Academic All-District selection for Andersen, Booker, Dukes, Fields, Henningsen, Hutchinson and Mahone.

Dukes is the reigning NAIA Football Academic All-American of the Year while Booker and Henningsen were First Team Academic All-Americans in 2020. Fields and Mahone were both Second Team Academic All-Americans in 2020.

This marked the second Academic All-District honor for Gibbens, who was a 2019 First Team Academic All-American at Abilene Christian before grad transferring to Minnesota for his extra year of eligibility. This is the third Academic All-District selection for Kaniho, who was a Second Team Academic All-American in 2019 and a First Team Academic All-American in 2020. It is also the third Academic All-District selection for Gray, a two-time First Team Academic All-American.